The Higgins Bedford:
The museum is housed in what was The Higgins and Sons brewery and family home, built in the early 1840s. Cecil Higgins later founded the museum through his bequest, opening in 1949.
Visitors today can enjoy watercolour, print and decorative art collections of international significance, including major collections of works by architect William Burges and artist Edward Bawden. Local collections tell the story of Bedford and its people through archaeological finds, natural history, geology and social history.
Festival Hub Host
For our second year as an OUTing the Past festival venue we are excited to offer a warm welcome to OUTing the Past festival goers and look forward to inviting a rich diversity of speakers. OUTing the Past 2019 will be an opportunity to explore interpretations of history from a fresh perspective and allow us to discuss, share and record LGBT history in a relevant and meaningful way. The day will include related LGBT stallholders to greet festival goers in the reception area, creative art activities in our Barbican Studio and Festival speakers hosted in the Castle Room.
Logistics & Contact Information
The Higgins Bedford
The Higgins Bedford is situated at the heart of Bedford’s Cultural Quarter a short walk from the High Street. For information about how to get to The Higgins Bedford by Bus, Train, Road, Cycle and information about parking please see the ‘How to Find Us’ page on our website. http://www.thehigginsbedford.org.uk/visit_us/how_to_find_us.aspx
For more information about The Higgins Bedford
please visit: http://www.thehigginsbedford.org.uk/
Festival Programme: email@example.com
Specific enquiries to: Lydia.Saul@bedford.gov.uk